Pope McGlamry Attorneys Sworn in to United States Supreme Court

On April 26, 2011, nine lawyers from Pope McGlamry were admitted to practice in the United States Supreme Court.  Prior to the day’s oral arguments, Neal Pope moved for the admission of his son, Kirk Pope, and Earle Lasseter moved for the admission of Mike McGlamry, Tim Morrison, Bill Norwood, Gino Brogdon, Wally Walker, Alan Snipes, David Rayfield, and M.J. Blakely.  Earle also moved for the admission of his son, David F. Lasseter, Chief of Staff for freshman congressman Blake Farenthold of Texas.  Both motions were granted by Chief Justice John G. Roberts and the lawyers admitted to practice before the United States Supreme Court.  Paul Kilpatrick, Trip Tomlinson, and Jay Hirsch, along with Mr. Pope and Colonel Lasseter, had previously been admitted to the Court, but were in attendance for the event.

Col. Lasseter’s longtime friend and Clerk of the Supreme Court, General William K. Suter, and his staff were instrumental in helping with the arrangements.  Col. Lasseter first met General Suter while they were both serving as JAG officers in the United States Army.  Pope McGlamry was also honored to have Justice Clarence Thomas join them for an extended visit after their admission.  Justice Thomas was more than gracious with his time and in answering questions about the Court.  All eligible Pope McGlamry lawyers may now practice before the nation’s highest court.